Fresh Boys Don’t Want To Pay (When A Rich Nigga Wants You)

Ghanaian DatingI keep saying to myself that I am not going to write anything on relationships anymore but it looks like I keep eating those words from time to time. Well, I was listening to Chris Brown’s “Loyal” and the chorus just makes me laugh all the time. “When a rich nigga wants you, and your man can’t do nothing for you.” I laugh because it is funny and actually a true, serious problem. Money is changing the way people are dating in Ghana these days. Personally, I think it is a combination of several factors but the main one is definitely greed.

And please note that when I say “Rich guys”, I am in no way referring to those swag wannabes boys who brag and make a lot of noise all over town but got nothing to show for it. I am talking about the real rich guys. The ones with the levels.

Love is expensive these days. I say this because I believe I am not the only one who agrees that falling in love these days is now a sort of financial investment. You need to consider if you have the capital to start the relationship and the deep pockets to maintain a certain standard of living for you and your partner. Why? because for every girlfriend out there, there are over 20 other guys, both single and married, who will gladly be willing to invest in your woman. Hyperbole? Okay. Let me rephrase my statement then. What I mean is your girlfriend could have 20 boyfriends, including you, and those 20 boyfriends will be capable of taking care of her whether you can or can not. Let me make one thing clear at this point though, that I am not doing generalization. Not every relationship is vulnerable to the outside influence of money. Not every Ghanaian girl is swayed by money and it doesn’t even matter whether rich or poor, not every Ghanaian girl can be financially manipulated. However, I am talking about the ones that can be swayed. Exactly.

Now I want to ask you ladies this question. What do you do when a rich guy wants you and your present man can’t take care of you? I know that most of your replies will be “Love”. If you love your present man, no amount of money will sway you to leave him for a rich guy. Right? LOOOOOOL. That is in theory isn’t it? Granted, some girls will fend off every rich guy who tries to steal her from her man but there are a good number of girlfriends out there who will gladly switch lanes without blinking an eye. You see greed is simply wanting more than you need and that’s the source of the recurring problem we are seeing in relationships today. One guy has multiple girlfriends, each one serving some purpose, all acquired through his financial prowess. On the other side, one girl has multiple “benefactors” who she informally exchanges “companionship” with for money because money makes her life so much better. The sheer excess of money in the hands of the sexually-greedy Ghanaian boy/man, combined with the greedy Ghanaian girl’s financial appetite, all combine to form the growing trend of multi-dating in Ghana. Am I exaggerating? Well then please answer this, If a rich guy comes for a girl who is dating a man who can’t take care of her, do you think the rich guy’s chances of getting the girl are slim? Don’t tell me NO! That is not an honest answer!

Loyalty and faithfulness are disappearing fast among Ghanaian relationships. There is obviously no official statistics about this trend except the fact that as you are reading this, you and I know at least one guy with multiple girlfriends and/or one girl with multiple boyfriends. Greed. We cant seem to have enough of anything these days. The motive is, if you can have more, why settle for less. For the rich guy, it’s a challenge to acquire wealth and use this wealth to acquire female companionship. It’s not just about the sex. It’s about the immoral satisfaction of his ego. The more women he can “maintain”, the more satisfied his ego becomes. Problem is, egos are usually insatiable. For the girl, the chance of a rich guy coming into your life holds the promise of a better standard of living. The more guys you maintain, the higher your standard of living. Couple that with the general state of the Ghanaian education system and job market and you have a situation where multiple boyfriends and good multi-dating cash seems more lucrative than filling out job applications.

The thing is, I can understand why money is such a deciding factor these days. Why would a girl want to suffer when she can enjoy. Why would she want a trip to the Labadi Beach for Valentine’s day when someone can offer her a weekend in Paris? Its almost insane to invest in “charle wote” when you could be rocking Gucci shoes. Can a brother really afford to fall in love then? In this economic-relationship market? Like I said, I am not generalizing here. It would be a waste of time for one “good girl” to start a fight with me, just because I am saying loyalty is a myth in the face of money. Don’t fight me, fight the BAD NUTS ruining the whole groundnut soup.

TheGhanaianBoy
@ISAVEDHERSOUL 

Photo Credit: Stills Of Our Time

2 thoughts on “Fresh Boys Don’t Want To Pay (When A Rich Nigga Wants You)

Leave a Reply

